Baldwin High School

  • The Dignity Act prohibits discrimination and harassment of students by staff and other students defined as the creation of a hostile environment by conduct or by verbal threats, intimidation or abuse that has or would have the effect of unreasonably and substantially interfering with a student's educational performance, opportunities or benefits, or mental, emotional or physical well-being; or conduct, verbal threats, intimidation or abuse that reasonably causes or would reasonably be expected to cause a student to fear for his or her physical safety. Such conduct, verbal threats, intimidation or abuse includes but is not limited to conduct, verbal threats, intimidation or abuse based on a person's actual or perceived race, color, weight, national origin, ethnic group, religion, religious practice, disability, sexual orientation, gender or sex.

    Bullying is a form of harassment. According to the U.S. Department of Education, bullying generally involves the following characteristics:
    An imbalance of power - Children who bully use their power such as physical strength, access to embarrassing information, or popularity to control or harm others. Power imbalances can change over time and in different situations, even if they involve the same people.
    The Intent to Cause Harm - The person bullying has a goal to cause harm.
    Repetition - Bullying behaviors generally are repeated and happen over time.

    The Dignity Act Coordinators
    Coordinators work in conjunction with Pupil Support Services (school psychologists, social workers and guidance counselors) in addressing all incidents and concerns. Please contact the appropriate coordinator or support service staff with any questions or concerns.

    Dignity for All Students (DASA) Coordinators:
    District Office - Dr. Michelle Gallo, Anthony Mignella
    Baldwin High School - Neil Testa, Dr. Arlene Guerrero, Dr. Stephanie Boldur
    Baldwin Middle School - Andrew Dinapoli, Erica Taylor
    Brookside School - Jennifer Bumford
    Lenox School - Asheena Baez
    Meadow School - Echele May
    Plaza School - Mark Gray
    Steele School - Nicole Hunn