Return to Headlines

Mary Jo O'Hagan Wins NYS School Boards Association's Highest Award

Mary Jo O’Hagan, a school board member in the Baldwin Union Free School District (USFD), has been named the winner of the New York State School Boards Association’s (NYSSBA) top award for school board service.

She will receive the 2019 Everett R. Dyer Award for Distinguished School Board Service at the Association’s Annual Convention this October in Rochester, New York.

"O’Hagan’s leadership and work on behalf of children is truly outstanding," said NYSSBA President William Miller. "She is a role model for other board members and a consummate advocate for the value of public education."

Ms. O’Hagan has been an active member in the district for the past 36 years. She was elected to the Baldwin UFSD Board of Education in 1994 and continues to serve as vice president. During her tenure on the board, she has been appointed board president or vice president multiple times.

Since 2001, Ms. O’Hagan has served the Nassau-Suffolk School Boards Association (N-SSBA) in numerous capacities—president, vice president, secretary and treasurer. She has chaired several  N-SSBA committees, including nominating, finance and budget committees, and is a current member of the legislative committee. She has played a vital role in the New York State School Boards Association (NYSSBA)’s State Issues Conference, Federal Relations Network, and Commissioner's Advisory Council.

In addition to her school board service, Ms. O’Hagan has served on the Nassau School and Municipal Shared Savings Initiative, the Long Island Regional Planning Council, and the Legislative Committee for the Nassau Council of School Superintendents. Since 2015, she has been co-chair of the Long Island Educational Coalition.

Prior to serving on the Baldwin UFSD Board of Education, she was involved in the PTA, holding various positions over the year. While on the PTA, she received the Lifetime Achievement Award and Distinguished Service Award.

“We are extremely proud of Ms. Mary Jo O’Hagan to receive this award and congratulate her on this tremendous achievement. Over the past 25 years, she has served as an exemplary board member and advocate for our children and education,” said Dr. Shari L. Camhi, superintendent of schools, Baldwin Union Free School District. “It’s been an honor working with her to develop some of the most innovative and effective programs available in any district nationwide.”