Return to Headlines

Baldwin High School Senior Named Commended Student by National Merit Scholarship Corporation

Dylan Pigott Recognized in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program

Baldwin High School senior, Dylan Pigott, has been recognized as a Commended Student in the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program. The National Merit Scholarship Program is a nation-wide competition for recognition and awards conducted by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC). A Letter of Commendation was presented to the scholastically talented student by Baldwin High School principal, Dr. Neil Testa.

“We are so proud that Dylan Pigott received this honor. He is an exemplary student,” said Dr. Neil Testa, principal of Baldwin High School. “He continues to exceed expectations, and this distinction is a result of his unwavering hard work and commitment to his academics.”  

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Commended Students placed among the top 50,000 scorers of more than 1.5 million students who entered the 2021 competition by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

“Those being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success,” commented a spokesperson for NMSC. “These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success.”

Mr. Pigott has been inducted into the National Honor Society and is a member of the Principal’s Leadership Group. He is also a musician and athlete, in which he ran on Varsity Cross Country and Varsity Track & Field from 9th to 11th grade. In addition to this distinction, he has received many accolades, including President’s Award for Educational Achievement (two-time recipient), All-County Alto Saxophone, the Oyster Bay Colony Award, Martin Luther King, Jr. Humanitarian Award, and Walt Whitman Poetry Contest winner.